28 C
City of Banjul
Sunday, January 17, 2021

Star GSM awards 19 journos, 51 others

- Advertisement -

By Amadou M Jadama The proprietor of Star GSM Communication Company has recently awarded 19 journalists and 51 others at a colourful ceremony held at Westfield monument Speaking at the ceremony before presenting the certificates to the various awardees the Managing Director of Star GSM Communication, Lamin Kabba, said: “I dedicated my institution’s five year anniversary to Gambian journalists especially the late veteran broadcasters who sacrificed their lives for this country until the time of their demised. He enjoined Gambians to recommend the work of journalists in the country. “I urge Gambians and Government in particular to give maximum respect to journalists in the country. No nation can development without media.” Addressing the audience at the ceremony on the topic: ‘maintaining Peace in The Gambia’, the veteran broadcaster, Alhaji Sarjo Barrow described The Gambia as a peace loving nation. Barrow called on Gambians to give each other space in order for peace to prevail. “Gambians should be patient towards each other because we have nothing but oneness and that oneness should continue for the interest of the country not an individual or group of people,” Barrow urged Gambians. He used the occasion to call on Islamic scholars in the country to preach peace within their different Islamic sects. “Gambia does not belong to only one person or tribe but it belongs to everybody thus the interest of the country must be considered first before individual or group interest,” he concluded. For his part, another veteran broadcaster, Alhaji Musa Manneh described peace as precious and priceless thus urging Gambians to always maintain peace in the country. Manneh informed audience that nothing is equal to peace in this world adding that if the country is at peace we will get what we want without any hindrance. The awardees were the late: Alhaji Kebba Dibba, Lallo Samateh, Ismaila Manneh, Momodou Sanyang and Mansour Njie all formerly of GRTS Radio and Deyda Hydara. The current journalist awardees were: Sarjo Barrow, Musa Manneh, Alieu Jobe, Modou Joof, Lamin B. Darboe of The Daily Observer, Pap Saine and Njie Baldeh of The Point Newspaper and Kebba Camara of Paradise FM, Sara Camara of Star FM, Assan Bah of Star FM, Alpha Karaga of Star FM, Ebrima Manneh of Kora FM and Pa Darboe of Hilltop FM. Other awardees were: Media institutions, the Gambia Police Force, individual police officers, Jaliba Kuyateh, Tatadinding Jorbateh and other Artistes.]]>

- Advertisement -
Join The Conversation
- Advertisment -

Latest Stories


Ahmadiyya Jama’at extends post-disaster relief to 300 families

By Momodou Darboe The Ahmadiyya Muslim Jama'at is set to provide relief to 300 disaster-hit families in some parts of the country, revealed the Amir...
- Advertisment -