29 C
City of Banjul
Tuesday, September 29, 2020

APRC regains Janjanbureh seat

- Advertisement -

“Mr Ebrima M. Sarjo of the APRC polled 741 votes whilst Mr. Kebba Yorro Manneh of the NRP polled 110 votes,” a release from the Independent Electoral Commission stated.

- Advertisement -

“In accordance with Section 81 subsection (2) of the Elections Act, the Chairman of the Independent Electoral Commission Alhagie Mustapha L Caroyol declared the results and Mr. Ebrima M. Sarjo duly elected Member of the National Assembly for Janjanbureh Constituency.”

Manneh had also lost to an APRC candidate in 2013 in a National Assembly election in what was considered a tight race and in his earlier interview with this paper; he had expressed optimism that he would win the race.

However, Tombong Jatta, the majority leader at the National Assembly, told The Standard on Tuesday that the Janjanbureh race was going to be a smooth sail for the APRC.


- Advertisement -
Join The Conversation
- Advertisment -

Latest Stories

saikou mballow


By Tabora Bojang President Adama Barrow's deputy youth adviser has come to his defense, after opposition politicians and many other Gambians accused him of masterminding...
- Advertisment -