24 C
City of Banjul
Sunday, January 17, 2021

European Commission launches the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize 2015

- Advertisement -

EU Commissioner for International Cooperation and Development, Neven Mimica, said: “The aim of the European Year for Development is to inform EU citizens about development cooperation by highlighting the results that the EU, acting together with Member States, has achieved as the world’s largest donor. This is why I’m delighted to launch the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize, which will reward some of the most talented professional and amateur journalists who report on development issues and contribute to the fight against poverty.”

- Advertisement -

This year’s Lorenzo Natali Media Prize, is launched under the motto ‘Today’s stories can change our tomorrow’. It is timed to coincide with the 2015 European Year for Development and comes just one day after World Press Freedom Day. It gives reporters and amateur journalists in the development community an unparalleled opportunity to showcase their commitment to eradicating poverty worldwide, and inspire people to help improve the lives of those in their own communities.

For the first time ever, this year the Prize will be open to amateur journalists, including bloggers, in a separate category. As witnessed during the Arab Spring, amateur journalism gives people the power to shape public opinion and influence political events.

In many parts of the world, press freedom is undermined and journalists are at risk of attack. The EU is committed to press freedom and recognises the important contribution of journalists to bring about change by exposing injustice and suffering.

The Lorenzo Natali Media Prize will be awarded to one amateur and one professional journalist from the following five regions: Europe, Africa, the Middle East and the Arab World, Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as Asia and the Pacific. Each winner will receive a trophy and cash prize of €5,000.

An independent Grand Jury will also consider all the regional winners for the additional €5,000 Grand Prize. The winners will be revealed and honoured at an award ceremony in Brussels in December 2015.



Established in 1992 by the European Commission, the Lorenzo Natali Prize is awarded in memory of Lorenzo Natali, former Commissioner for Development and a staunch defender of freedom of expression, democracy, human rights and development. The Prize represents a unique opportunity to illustrate the power of great stories to change the world.


- Advertisement -
Join The Conversation
- Advertisment -

Latest Stories


Ahmadiyya Jama’at extends post-disaster relief to 300 families

By Momodou Darboe The Ahmadiyya Muslim Jama'at is set to provide relief to 300 disaster-hit families in some parts of the country, revealed the Amir...
- Advertisment -