26.4 C
City of Banjul
Thursday, June 20, 2024


- Advertisement -

The race towards African Women Football showpiece, Women’s Africa Cup of Nations in Morocco in 2022 starts this weekend. The Gambia national women’s football team is paired with Sierra Leone in the first round of the qualifiers with the first leg in Freetown on September 18  and the return leg in Banjul on September 26 .

Some 21 other pairs will also be in action at the same time.

Morocco, the host country of the final tournament who automatically qualified as hosts. It will be the first edition organized under the format of 12 teams. Ahead of the first leg the Gambia team has started training at the technical training center in Yundum. The Gambia’s male national team has qualified for the Afcon for the first time in history and the country’s football authorities want the same status for the female team too. The first round winner between Gambia and Sierra Leone will meet Cameroon or Central African Republic CAR in the second round where 22 teams would be paired to produce 11 winners who would join host Morocco in the tournament. The Gambian team is expected to fly out today Thursday.

- Advertisement -

Full first round fixtures:

M1 – Uganda v Ethiopia

M2 – Kenya v South Sudan

- Advertisement -

M3 – Eritrea v Burundi

M4 – Djibouti v Rwanda

M5 – Malawi v Zambia

M6 – Tanzania v Namibia

M7 – Zimbabwe v Eswatini

M8 – Angola v Botswana

M9 – Mozambique v South Africa

M10 – Algeria v Sudan

M11 – Egypt v Tunisia

M12 – Equatorial Guinea v DR Congo

M13 – Sao Tome and Principe v Togo

M14 – Congo v Gabon

M15 – Central African Republic v Cameroon 

M16 – Sierra Leone v Gambia

M17 – Liberia v Senegal

M18 – Mali v Guinea

M19 – Guinea Bissau v Mauritania

M20 – Burkina Faso v Benin

M21 – Nigeria v Ghana

M22 – Niger v Cote d’Ivoire

Second Round

Winner M1 v Winner M2

Winner M3 v Winner M4

Winner M5 v Winner M6

Winner M7 v Winner M8

Winner M9 v Winner M10

Winner M11 v Winner M12

Winner M13 v Winner M14

Winner M15 v Winner M16

Winner M17 v Winner M18

Winner M19 v Winner M20

Winner M21 v Winner M22

Aggregate winners qualify to join hosts Morocco in the final tournament.

Join The Conversation
- Advertisment -spot_img
- Advertisment -spot_img