Barrow swears in 2 new judicial commissioners


By Tabora Bojang

Two new members of the Judicial Service Commission were yesterday sworn into office by President Adama Barrow at State House, Fajara.
They are Mr Bolong LK Jatta of Busumbala, an agronomist and veteran politician and Mr Lamin Ceesay, a former parliamentarian and community leader.

According to a press release from the office of the Chief Justice who serves as chairman of the Judicial Service Commission, the president is constitutionally mandated to appoint members of the commission.
“The [Commission in turn] is mandated under the Constitution to recommend the appointment of judges, magistrates and senior officials of the judiciary. It is also mandated to advise on the improvement of the machinery of justice,” the release explained.


Newly sworn-in member Ceesay thanked President Barrow for the confidence and trust he bestowed on them and promised they would discharge their duties in accordance with their oaths and to the best of their ability.
Mr Jatta was elected councillor for the APRC for Busumbala Ward in 2008, while Mr Ceesay served as UDP National Assembly Member for Sami Constituency.
The swearing-in ceremony was attended by Justice Zainab Jawara-Alami, the judicial secretary and other senior officials.