GPU awards 12 Gambian journalists


By Tabora Bojang

The Gambia Press Union in commemoration of World Press Freedom Day on Friday conferred awards on 12 Gambian journalists at a gala night held at Djembe Hotel.
The colorful event is the second of its kind and was funded by the GPU’s partners such as the United Nations Democracy Fund and UNESCO and brought together journalists from both the print and electronic media, media chiefs, veteran journalists, Government officials and the public.

The award is designed to promote excellence in journalism in The Gambia and to celebrate and recognise the efforts and contributions of hard working men and women in the media fraternity during the past year. A panel of four judges did the nominations.


The winners: Sports – Omar Jarju and John Mendy both of West Coast Radio
Human Rights – Mustapha K Darboe, Freelance journalist
Feature: -Alagie Manneh of The Standard Newspaper
Agriculture:  Oumie Njie of GRTS
Life Style-Halimatou Ceesay of the Point Newspaper
Women: Ebrima Baldeh of GRTS
Politics: -Adam Jobe of The Point and Ebrima Baldeh of GRTS
Environment: – Isatou Jatta of GRTS
Business: -Rohey Bittaye of GRTS and Kumba Leigh of Gambia Daily.

There was no winner for the Children’s Award, Health, Travel and Tourism.
The GPU President’s Award was presented to a veteran journalist Baa Trawalley, the founder and editor of the New Gambian newspaper founded in 1962.

The Late George Christensen also received a posthumous award; he founded Radio One FM, the first private FM in Africa.
Two other veterans were also awarded; Cherno Jallow, a former editor and founder of the then Gambia Daily and news agency, and Ngange Thomas, publisher of The Gambian.