22.2 C
City of Banjul
Tuesday, November 28, 2023


- Advertisement -

Untitled 61

Coach Tom Saintfiet has showed both boldness and candor when he revealed his choice of players for the September 8 clash against Algeria in the CAN qualifiers.
Addressing newsmen at Football House yesterday Saintfiet said The Gambia is spoilt with choice in some departments such as the striking department with many players playing at t high level.
However according to the coach there is no such abundance of talent in other areas such as defence.
“We are only allowed to select 18 players in the final team sheet, and you have to have alternatives for every position on the bench to balance the team. I try to take decisions based on facts and not emotions we think we have good alternatives,” the coach said in an apparent response to concerns that top striker Steve Trawally has been dropped.

The coach then unveiled a list of 17 foreign-based players and three (undisclosed) local based players.
The list also has some new and youthful faces like Musa Barrow as well as some established players.
On his tactics the coach said the Algerians are the favourites for the game but his side will do everything to make it very difficult for them, stressing that he cannot disclose the style of play his side will be coming up with to avoid leaking any information to his opponents.
“The Gambia have the players and the quality and with the right attitude and strategy we can succeed. We are on a route and will do everything to qualify,” he added.

- Advertisement -


List of invited players
1. Modou Jobe El-Kanemi Warriors (Nigeria)
2. Baboucarr Gaye Armenia Bielefeld (Germany)
3. Omar Colley Sampdoria (Italy )
4. Bubacarr Sanneh Midtjylland (Denmark)
5. Pa Modou Jagne FC Zurich (Switzerland)
6. Simon Ritcher BK Bronshoj (Denmark)
7. Dawda Ngum BK Bronshoj (Denmark)
8. Sulayman Marreh Watford FC (England)
9. Ebou Adams Ebbsfleet United (England)
10. Tijan Jaiteh Al Markhiya (Qatar)
11. Modou Barrow Reading (England )
12. Mustapha Carayol Apollon Limassol (Cyprus)
13. Lamin Jallow Salernitana (Italy)
14. Ablie Jallow FC Metz (France)
15. Assan Ceesay FC Lugano (Switzerland)
16. Musa Barrow Atalanta Bergamo (Italy )
17. Hamza Barry Hajduk Split (Croatia)

Join The Conversation
- Advertisment -spot_img
- Advertisment -spot_img